Almagro gets the triple crown

Almagro gets the triple crown

The 2011 86th edition of the oldest clay tournament in Spain, the Tennis Kings Cup, included Nicolás Almagro, Albert Montañés, Pablo Andújar and Colombian Santiago Giraldo.

Almagro an ATP number 12 defeated Montañes in three sets and trusts that the quality of tournament will last “many years”. Nicolás Almagro has become this past Friday, July 1, as winner of the 86 Edition of the tennis King Cup after beating Albert Montañés in the final. It is the third time for him to get this trophy. Almagro has pointed out that in Huelva “it feels like at home” and thanked the Organization the effort they perform each year so that everything is perfectly developed.

The Cup was a gift from the King Alfonso XII to the club in 1912 is still one of the top friendly international tournaments in the world attracting the highest ranking players. The silver trophy has engraved on its base each winners name.

Amongst the winners and participants are: Henri Leconte (FRA), Andres Gomez (ECU), Carlos Moya (ESP), Albert Costa (ESP), Tim Henman (ENG), Sergi Bruguera (ESP), Emilio Sanchez Vicario (ESP), Alex Corretja (ESP), Tommy Robredo (ESP). The winners in recent years have been: 2005 Rafael Nadal (ESP), 2006 Guillermo Coria (ARG), 2007 Nicolas Almagro, 2008 David Ferrer (ESP), 2009 David Ferrer (ESP), 2010 & 2011 Nicolas Almagro (ESP).

Battled out over three days in front of over 15,000 spectators, the 2012 event is to be televised and broadcast around the globe.

MAS represents all the television, media and sponsorship rights on behalf of the tennis club in a long term agreement. Archive and clip rights from the past events are also available.